Quick…. Roasted Sweet Potatoes

spices

My favorite threesome!

One of my favorite spices is Old Bay Seasoning.  It is supposed to be used for seafood like crab cakes, but I have found some great uses for it.  It contains red and black pepper, salt and paprika and on the right foods it is heaven. (and I really like the vintage packaging….just what Lucy would have in her kitchen)

Another favorite is Mrs. Dash. As a cardiac nurse, I have told thousands of patients that needed a salt substitute about this product.  It comes in several different flavors and contains no preservatives, just spices and no salt.

Turmeric is a spice that has many health benefits and may even shrink cancer cells.  It is the spice that gives curry its beautiful color.

You can play around with the amounts of the spices…here’s how I like it:

Ingredients

5 medium sweet potatoes (organic if possible) peeled about 50% and cut into 1 inch cubes

1-1 1/2 TBS Old Bay Seasoning

2 tsp Mrs Dash garlic and herb flavor

2 tsp Turmeric

(Cold pressed) safflower oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Place cut up potatoes in a large bowl and add oil.  Mix well to coat all the pieces.

Combine all the spices in a small bowl.  Sprinkle over potatoes and mix well distributing evenly.

Place in a single layer on a cookie sheet that has been sprayed with non-stick oil (organic if possible)

Bake on oven for 30 minutes, stir, then 10 minutes more.

Enjoy alone or as a side dish.  These disappear quickly in my house!

 

roasted sweet potatoes

I'm like Pavlov's dog when I see these!



Categories: diet, healthy diet, Uncategorized, vegan diet, vegetarian diet

Tags: , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I have to try this recipe! It would help soothe my cravings for deep fried french fries. 😉

  2. Could I use Canola oil instead?

So whaddya think?

