Earth Balance “buttery” Spread fooled my family

A tasty, healthy, vegan, butter substitute is not just a dream!

I am in love with Earth Balance  products.  When I decided to go vegan, I had to find a buttery-tasting substitute for my toast, for baking, cooking, etc.  The one’s I’ve tried in the past were lack luster and just plain unhealthy.

But then along came Earth Balance! (OK, it was always there, I just hadn’t found it yet)

vegan butter substitute

Just as a reminder, I do not accept any money or products from companies to promote their products, and I only promote what I personally use.

I started buying Earth Balance just for me, while still buying “other stuff” for my family.  But that got to be a pain, so I stopped buying the butter and horrible hydrogenated margarine, and just stuck with the earth Balance to see if anyone would notice.

(margarine, while not containing animal products, uses the process of hydrogenation, which is forcibly adding hydrogen ions to liquid oil in order to make it more solid at room temperature.   Your body cannot process“hydrogenated” oils,and reads them as “saturated fat” thereby having a negative effect on cholesterol and overall health  The term “trans-fat” refers to hydrogenated oils) 

I knew my family would just use whatever was in a tub without looking at the label.  They did. I waited for the complaints and screams of “Mom! what is this stuff?!”  But it never came.  They used it and loved it.  SCORE!

I use Earth Balance for everything I would use butter for: spreading on food, melting over popcorn, sautéing spinach, or frying eggplant.  There are many different kinds of spreads and you can pick the one for you.  I like the soy-free and olive oil one’s myself.

Earth Balance also makes a great organic coconut spread  product for baking and cooking.  I used it in my most recent recipe Easy Creamy Spaghetti Squash Casserole .

So let’s review:

  • vegan
  • no GMO’s
  • some are organic
  • tastes great
  • versatile to use in the kitchen
  • they use expeller-pressed oils (not chemically expressed)
  • nothing artificial
  • rich in Omega-3 fatty acids
You can visit their blog, recipes and contests site here

The Earth Balance folks also make vegan mayonnaise which I have yet to try. Anyone try that yet?



Categories: cooking, health, healthy living blogs, vegan cooking, vegan diet, vegetarian diet

Tags: , , , ,

15 replies

  1. Yay,I checked their website about the palm oil issue and I liked what I read! Very responsible indeed.It makes me love this product even more!!!Thank you Joe.Very informative! I never thought to checking labels about palm oil…now I will!!!

  2. Well, I would like to know where Earth balance gets it Palm Fruit Oil one if its main ingredients. If there are getting it from indonesia they need to change their product name to Earth-unbalance. Go to this site https://www.rainforest-rescue.org/topics/palm-oil and do some reading before you go and purchase Earthbalance. In you might check with Earth balance at their website http://madejustright.com and get some answers. It is important to note that about 50% of the goods we use everyday contains palm oil.

    What about organic palm oil? Read the following comments by Rainforest Rescue.

    Moreover, Rainforest Rescue has determined that one supplier of organic palm oil, the Daabon group in Colombia, has been responsible for serious accidents and spills, excessive use of water, pollution, deforestation and the eviction of small farmers from their land. Vast oil palm monocultures also extend across thousands of hectares of land in that Latin American country. In the view of Rainforest Rescue, Daabon definitely does not deserve the organic label for ecological agriculture and fair trade.

    Wikipedia Artcle:

    The use of palm oil in food products has attracted the concern of environmental activist groups; the high oil yield of the trees has encouraged wider cultivation, leading to the clearing of forests in parts of Indonesia in order to make space for oil-palm monoculture. This has resulted in significant acreage losses of the natural habitat of the orangutan, of which both species are endangered; one species in particular, the Sumatran orangutan, has been listed as “critically endangered”.[8] In 2004, an industry group called the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) was formed to work with the palm oil industry to address these concerns.[9] Additionally, in 1992, in response to concerns about deforestation, the Malaysian Government pledged to limit the expansion of palm oil plantations by retaining a minimum of half the nation’s land as forest cover.[10][11]

  3. Thanks for the Earth Balance shout-out! We would love to send you a gesture of gratitude. Email press@earthbalancenatural.com.

  4. Wow, I gotta look for this stuff! Thanks for sharing! x

  5. Been fooling my son for years! He is a butter lover and never even noticed I made the switch over 3 years ago to Earth Balance. THanks for the post Savvy Sis 🙂

  6. We love this product! It does not disappoint!

  7. I have aways wondered if that tasted good. I am picking some up today…thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Poetry: The different minds of a writer – Mostly inspirational chit-chat

So whaddya think?

