Heavenly Honey Roasted Squash with Fresh Mint

Winter squash is everywhere now that it is officially fall.  Until a few years ago I only used squash for decorations outside.

easy acorn squash recipe

But these amazing veggies, loaded with fiber, vitamin A and C and plenty of iron are just what our bodies need in the cooler weather when our systems tend to slow down and “hibernate”.  You can see all of the winter squash varieties here.

I copied this recipe from a side dish that I ate at my favorite restaurant Seasons 52.  If you live in the USA I highly recommend it as there are locations across the country.  I studied the teste and texture of my squash dish with my tasebuds and then went home and tried to re-create it in my kitchen.  It only took my 6 tries 🙂

I chose two colors of acorn squash: green and orange.  The orange seemed to have a thicker skin, but it may have just been the one I chose.

What you’ll need:

  •  winter squash-about 3 pounds, but you can easily make more if needed. 2 acorn were used here, but you can use butternut, or buttercup too.  Butternut squashes are larger and will need more time to bake. You should be able to easily pierce through the skin with a fork when they are done.
  • 1/2 cup raw honey (vegans can use maple syrup)
  • 2 tbs fresh mint leaves chopped
1.  Wash squash and wrap in foil whole.  Place in 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours.
2.  Slice and remove seeds.

3.  Cut into thick slices and place on baking sheet sprayed with non-stick spray.  Some skins are tender, so you can leave them on, and some are more tough.  You can choose to remove the skin at this point as it’s very easy to do so.

4. Place honey in microwave safe dish and nuke for 15 seconds or so just to get it thinned.  Brush squash generously with honey.

easy acorn squash recipe

5.  Sprinkle with chopped mint leaves.

6. Set oven to broil and place on the second shelf at 450 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes so that the edges get browned from the honey, but not dark. Check often.

The flavor of these are amazing and the color just makes you feel happy.  I am going to make some quinoa and green beans to go with this dish…and I am having a hard time not eating all the squash!

Check out some squash at your local market and experiment with them.  Some like butternut have a rich texture and make great soups.

Enjoy!!

Nutrition if using 2 acorn squash: makes 4 servings approx 1 1/2 cups each serving

Calories: 290 Fat: 0g Cholesterol 0g (because only animal products have cholesterol!) Protein 3 g Carbs: 62 Fiber: 13 g Vitamin A: 26% RDA Vitamin C: 45% RDA Iron 16% RDA Calcium 12% RDA



Categories: cooking, healthy cooking, healthy living, healthy recipes, vegan recipes, vegetarian recipes

Tags: , , , ,

9 replies

  1. I adore squash and anything honey roasted is fabulous in my book!
    That looks delicious 🙂

  2. I love squash! We don’t have squash in Japan that I used to eat when I was in the US which I miss eating in this season. Beautiful pics, too!

  3. I do agree. Roasting squash is such a great way to eat it, healthy.

  4. Hmm, I was wondering what this vegetarian was going to fix for my Canadian Thanksgiving dinner this weekend — now I know! Thanks — I’ll go with the maple syrup just to be patriotic!

  5. Wow! I want some now…this looks amazing and so easy to make. Can’t wait to try..thanks Savvy Sis

So whaddya think?