My job is shit

That’s what you’ll hear them say at the colonoscopy lab.  And being that it’s Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month, I thought I would take a moment to remind you that if you are 50 and you haven’t had a colonoscopy, this is you personal invite to do so.  I actually have mine scheduled for April and I can’t wait!  Free drugs and consensual anal sex with a camera is my idea of a good time for realz.

schedule-a-colonsocopy

Butt seriously (sorry) colonoscopies are great screening tools and they do catch colorectal cancer in their early stages for proper treatment.You can see what takes place here.  Aside from screening, maybe you should take this time to screen your eating and lifestyle to see if you can improve your colon health.

  • How many fruits and veggies did you eat today? Fiber is the key to prevention of all cancers. If it’s less than 5 servings, then make a smoothie or dip some veggies in this veggie dip.
  • Drinking enough water? You should be drinking half your weight in ounces…make it chlorine-filtered and add some fresh lemon for immunity
  • Exercise will reduce your risk of all cancers including colorectal by up to 40%!.
  • and of course…check out your poop to see if you are the king/queen of your own personal throne.

I received an e-mail from Cassie who inspired me to write this blog post, so Cassie, I’m giving you the floor:

My name is Cassie Jasso, and I’m the community manager for Dollar Shave Club.  I came across your blog and I’m contacting you today to ask for your help in spreading awareness for Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month this March. 
Colon Cancer is the second leading cause of cancer-related death in the US. And 5% of Americans will be impacted by the disease in their lifetime. 
We’re joining forces with the Colon Cancer Alliance to tell the 23 million Americans at risk for Colon Cancer that they need to get a colonoscopy. Colon Cancer is 90% curable, but only when it’s found early. We’re also giving the Colon Cancer Alliance 5% of One Wipe Charlies’ March sales to help raise money for the cause.
Follow our efforts this month using #DSColon and at dollarshaveclub.com/cca. We’ll be sharing facts, tips, and stories all month long, plus a special announcement from our CEO, Michael Dubin. 
In fact, right now, if you go to dollarshaveclub.com/cca and click the tweet button to share awareness with your family and friends, Dollar Shave Club will donate $1 for EVERY tweet! We would love for you to post this on your blog so you and your readers can all help the Colon Cancer Alliance raise money and awareness!
Thank you for your time, and please let me know if you are willing to help us spread the message.

Hellooooo gaw-jus

Hellooooo gaw-jus

Yes, Cassie, I am willing….ready, willing, and able to spread the word and push colorectal cancer awareness to higher heights.  Mission accomplished, Cassie. Let’s shout this to the moon!  No wait farther than that…let’s shout it all the way to Uranus!

Anything you’d like to share? Tell us!



Categories: cancer, cancer prevention, health and wellness, healthy living

Tags: , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Here in the UK we are a bit more low-key about bowel screening. We don’t offer colonoscopies unless stool samples or symptoms warrant it. I have just turned 50 (as you know) and am in the process of doing the three samples that you are ‘invited’ to provide every two years from the age of 50. Well, not actively in the process of doing. That would be gross! I did have some troubling symptoms two years ago and underwent a colonoscopy (which was fine). I opted for no sedation whatsoever. I will not be doing that again in a hurry. Opt for sedation folks! Timely post Miss Susan.

    • 50 is when most insurance companies cover a full colonoscopy (I believe even the new US government health care covers it) and if you’ve had cancer, you can get it done sooner with a Dr’s note.
      Getting a colonoscopy without sedation is NOT an option in the US! Wow! I would love to hear how THAT was! (on second thought….) Thanks Kellie!

  2. The colonospy is so simple nd what it can prevent is amazing, that in less then three hours you have the peace of mind … I had a few pallops , both non cancerous . Thank you God. I m 56 and will need to go back until I m 61 ……

  3. Getting mine next Thursday!!

So whaddya think?

