V, GF Herb Bread AND the 411 on coconut cream concentrate

In the previous post, I wrote about the differences in various brands of coconut milk and other options that were healthier.  One of those healthier options was Coconut Cream Concentrate and I ordered a jar as I was writing that post.  Well…it arrived today, and i just have to dish about it!

Before I talk about how great it is, I should remind you that this, like all other coconut oil /milk products are “fats” and should be used sparingly and in moderation. (As hard as that may be…)

Velvety smooth white silky coconut cream…that’s what I got when I prepared my jar of Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate.  This product comes in a jar and is separated…the coconut oil on top and the coconut meat underneath.  Just remove the lid, and place it in a pot of water on the stove and stir until the cream is consistently creamy.   It’s then ready for use in recipes.

$19.95 for 32 ounces

I wasn’t planning on making anything creamy for dinner tonight, but I just HAD to use this stuff.  I can see that I will be using this in my cream pasta sauces, my dessert icings, and lots of other places…..(I’ll post those as I make them)

Tonight, I was making an herb bread to go with my salad.  I usually use olive oil in the bread, but tonight, I thought I would replace it with the coconut cream concentrate.  The bread came out so soft and delicious I could hardly stand it.  I will be using the coconut cream in it every time.

This bread is great with soups and is a wonderful much-healthier stand in for cornbread which can be very dry.

Plant-based, gluten-free, Herb Bread

bereadphoto

  • 1 cup garbonzo bean flour
  • 1/2 cup amaranth flour
  • 2 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp powdered guar gum
  • 4 tbsp coconut cream concentrate (you can sub 2 tbs olive oil and 2 tbs plant-based mil here…but why would you?)
  • 1 cup warm water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Mix flours, herbs, baking powder, and guar gum in a mixing bowl

Add coconut cream and mix well

Add water a bit at a time to mix very well.  Mix for about 3 minutes as the flour absorbs the water.

Place in an 8 inch cast iron skillet (why?) wiped with oil.

(You could also drop these by tablespoonfuls onto a parchment-lined baking tray if you wanted)

Spray top with oil using an oil mister and sprinkle some dried rosemary on top.

Bake for 35 minutes.

Enjoy!!

Have you ever used coconut cream concentrate?



Categories: cooking, gluten free recipes, healthy cooking, nutrition, vegan cooking, vegan recipes, vegetarian recipes

Tags: , , , ,

8 replies

  1. Mmmmmmm….this sounds like a good pizza crust!

  2. I wish I liked the taste of coconut, but I don’t at all! Great recipe to pass along ~ thanks! 🙂

  3. I want some of that bread now! This looks delicious and even better that it is healthy

So whaddya think?

