Guest Blogger: Forks to Feet – My Forks Over Knives Story

For all those who aren’t sure about changing their diet to a more plant-based one, please read this one journey that started with watching the movie Forks Over Knives. What do you think about this ripped dude?

Always happy to have a returning contributor to VBU! One such blogger is Brandon Frye, a plant-based, long-distance runner from Winston-Salem, NC. Brandon’s blog Forks to Feet is inspirational to say the least. This post is specific to how the movie Forks Over Knives helped him and changed his life. You can see Brandon’s previous post Vegans and Protein here. Follow Forks to Feet on social media: Facebook, Twitter, Blog LovinPinterest, and Tumblr. Welcome back Brandon!

October 2010                                   March 2013

[First off, I am in no way compensated for sharing this testimonial.  I have no affiliation with Forks over Knives.  I just happened to come across the movie and it changed my life]

During the summer of 2011, I became very serious about working out and staying in shape, mostly…

View original post 768 more words



Categories: health

5 replies

  1. Going plant-based is the best thing that I ever did for my running career. It’s true, many athletes have gone vegan and found it to be beneficial. I have noticed an increase in speed, endurance, and mental agility. I also used to feel bloated all of the time and run down (as you read in my FOK story). My hips were especially in a lot of pain. With all of the vitamins, minerals, and nutrients that I get today, the pain is gone. I had no idea how bad milk, cheese, eggs, and meat were for my body until I stopped eating it completely. I actually went vegan immediately after watching the movie – I am an all-or-nothing kind of guy, so vegetarian was not an option for me 🙂 Thank you Savvy for sharing my story on your site. Your story is an amazing one and I’m truly happy for you – It’s very inspiring. I have known others to beat cancer on a plant-based diet. It’s important that we share this information with others because the media is not funded to do so. If anyone has any questions about running on a plant-based diet, visit us at forkstofeet.com. Hope to see you soon!

    • Thanks so much! As I went for a run today I thought to myself, “If everyone just opened their mind a bit and stopped listening to the mass media tell us that we need animal protein to be athletic, and felt the health that I’m feeling,people would adopt a plant-based way of life immediately!”
      Dairy was the big one for me as well. The medication I was on to keep the cancer away (Femara) swelled my joints to the point that I couldn’t walk for about 15 minutes after getting out of bed. Thank God my acupuncturist told me give up the dairy! Since I went dairy free, I’ve felt 100% great! no joint issues and no bloating!

      I was so happy to share your story! I invite everyone to check out http://www.forkstofeet.com

  2. Great post sister! I recently saw Forks over Knives & have been really curious to see if athletes are able to keep getting results after switching to a vegan diet. I enjoy lifting weights & eating meat but after watching the movie it made me want to make some changes in the way I eat. I include hemp hearts in my diet now which contain a lot of protein & I’m cutting out diary slowly but surely. Sugars are getting easier to avoid & as for chicken, I’m hoping to cut that out of my diet eventually. I’ve noticed that I do feel less sluggish these days & that is very important to me, I also believe that by eating a plant based diet it’s going to have a positive impact on the earth in general.

    • That makes me so happy to hear you say that! There are many vegan athletes like Tony Gonzalez with the Atlanta Falcons football team and Venus Williams the famous tennis star (and she’s a raw vegan!) I have to say getting rid of dairy was the biggest positive change that I experienced. My whole body was “swollen” when I was eating dairy, and when I quit, my joints were so much healthier and I wasn’t in pain!

      Let me know how it goes, and if you need any encouragement you know where to find me!

  3. Just read his post, amazing!! Love finding other vegan runners! 🙂

So whaddya think?

