Good News…and Bad News

The good news: Florence, (Cancer Warrior) one of the coolest girls in the breast cancer blogging house has asked me to co-author a book with her.  For those of you who don’t know her, she has just finished writing “100 Perks of Having Cancer”.  She was interviewed on CBC about reaching her milestone.    The book we are working on is entitled “100 Perks of Having Cancer (plus 100 Health Tips for Surviving It)” (I’m writing the health tip part)

There seems to be an interest in this idea because the publishers are all over us…offering money, caviar, limos, Matthew McConaughey look- alikes….with their shirts off, mind you!

We are very excited about this book, but more importantly (and really the reason we both started our blogs) is that we are excited to be able to offer to cancer patients and survivors, something upbeat, fun, and useful in the vast, confusing, mosh-pit labeled “cancer survivor resources”.  Stay tuned for specific release dates.

The bad news:  Because the book will eat up most of my free time, I will not be blogging as often as I usually do.  I also will not be commenting as much, so, no, I am not ignoring you.  (For those of you who just subscribe to be nice and hate all my blog posts clogging up their mailboxes, this may be considered good news.)

I feel compelled to tell a “good news, bad news joke” to wrap this post up:

A guy has surgery to get one of his legs amputated, and as he wakes up, the doctor says “I have some good news and some bad news.  The bad news is…we took off the wrong leg.”

“Oh my God!” Says the patient, “What’s the good news?!”

The doctor says, “Your other leg is going to be OK!”

 

These are the jokes, folks.



Categories: blogging

20 replies

  1. Nice Post..

  2. Congratulations!! Florence has a good taste for picking a partner. You write really well and have a great sense of humor which will make the book even more interesting for sure. Thank you always for making comments on my blog. Your words always brighten my day and I’m sure there will be many out there who will miss you, but you’ll be spending your time for a good cause. I’m excited for you!

  3. Hi! Not sure if you got my message. My email account was hacked and I lost everything including my contact list. Not sure if I remembered your email correctly. You can email me at my new address: florencestrang@hotmail.com

  4. Wow, how awesome! Congrats and break an inkwell! 🙂

  5. Thanks Rachel! YOU deserve all the credit as I found Flo from YOUR blog. Spiders aren’t the only one’s to spin beautiful webs!

  6. I LOVE THIS!!!! I am so excited for you guys! What a perfect combination of topics – perks and healthy tips – brilliant! Can’t wait to get my hands on the finished product!!

  7. Looking forward to this wonderful project!

  8. That’s fantastic news (not the not blogging so much part – I love your posts)! If it retains half of the sparky, savvy flavour of your blog then it will be a brilliant book. Let us all know how it’s progressing and when we can expect to see it. And, of course I would love to be able to recommend it to the patients and families that I see at the Maggies Cancer Caring Centres. If you need any recipes….

  9. Perfect marriage! Looking forward to this one! Will you send me your blog on whey? TY!!! Janexo

  10. Can’t wait to see you on the book tour!! Looking forward to the read.

  11. Sounds like fun … hope its a really positive experience for you both! Bernie

So whaddya think?

