Leave a McDonald’s burger out for almost 2 years and see what happens

I found this photo on facebook posted January 28, 2012 by David Hanscom.

It read:

via Facebook friend Jerome – What does this picture tell you? My doctor has had this “processed food” on her counter ever since 2010 and 2011 respectively. I asked her why she had it out, she stated “to show people what they are putting into their bodies”. This is man-made “processed food”, not real food. Over time real food will decay, grow mold and produce a decomposing odor. This “processed food” has not done any of that, matter of fact it has kept it’s original size, shape and texture. Your body has to work harder to breakdown and digest this stuff over real food.
The card in the picture says “This has been on the counter since April 15, 2010” and the dates on the other food is August 16, 2011.
I would not doubt that this picture is legit.  I think we’ve all found 2 and 3 year old french fries when cleaning out our cars and been tempted to eat them.  They get hard because they’ve dried out, but they don’t change their shape or color.
MArch 2014 I was participating in a health fair and met a woman who lectures to teens about healthy eating.  She did her own experiment with a Happy Meal.  This meal was 9 years old!! The burger and frieda were still all intact…like a mini Happy Meal Mummy. Considering McDonalds will sell 1 billion happy meals this year alone….it makes you wonder what the health of our kids is going to be 10 years from now if somethings isn’t done.
10001279_706586802697471_760413018_n10007232_706586706030814_589791149_n
I hate “in your face” blogs, and I try not to preach, but I just don’t know how folks can expect their body to process this “fake” food and still expect to be healthy.
“Food” for thought.
Nuff said.  I now return you to your previously scheduled non-preachy blog.


Categories: diet, health and wellness, healthy living blogs, nutrition, vegan diet, vegetarian diet

Tags: , , , , , ,

17 replies

  1. this was interesting because i’m doing a project on this processed food topic and this was very helpful and i also liked seeing what you guys thought of it. Thanks

  2. Changing the world one person at a time. How do you close them down?

  3. It’s good to get a little wake up call every now n then. I kind of boycotted McDonalds for a few years & sometimes go back to it for old time’s sake. When I see pictures like that it’s kinda gross.

  4. been tempted to eat the old fries. guilty as charged. great post. Tempted to set this experiment up myself. Just ran a great local panel discussion about food deserts last week…very timely!

  5. I normally eat oranges or drink fresh juice. I was tempted the other day to buy a carton of orange juice . I checked the mfg. date etc,. I tasted sweet when I drank it tgree days ago, alright,but my nose s running continuouly since then.

  6. That is disgusting. I’m fond of McDonald’s frys, but I may not be able to eat them again. Thanks for destroying my love for them. Ha ha! 🙂

  7. This is very disgusting. But yes, I too don’t doubt this.

  8. Eeewwwwwwwwww! Gross
    But, thanks for the wake-up call/reminder!

So whaddya think?

