My solution to BPA in canned soup

Soup in a box!

In my previous post I told you how a new Harvard study showed that the highest levels of harmful BPA come from canned soups.

In search of healthy, additive-free, can-free soup, I came across this one. Streit’s brand soup mix.  Just add water and in 45 minutes you have healthy home-made taste soup!  It comes in several varieties.  I’ve tried the minestrone, pea, and vegetable so far..all great with a very home-made flavor!
This one box makes 4 cups and costs $1.89.

One can of soup is 2 cups and costs $2.45.  (Do I have to do the math for you?)

I liked that fact that the spices are separate to be added in the last 15 minutes of simmering.  That way, I can control the amount of spice I put in to my taste.  Soups are usually too salty for me, but Streit’s Minestrone has 445 mg sodium (daily intake for low sodium diets is 2000mg/day) which is much less than Progresso’s Clam Chowder at 690 mg, and LESS than Progresso’s “low sodium” label soups.

I LOVE the fact that this soup is made with natural ingredients and they don’t insult my intelligence by just putting “no MSG”, but they also put “no hydrolyzed vegetable protein”, which is also MSG, and is where some companies like to hide their MSG to try to trick us. Pah-leeze!
no MSG soup

I love the fact that in 1890 Aron and Nettie Streit left Europe, and started their own matzo factory in 1916  on the Lower East side of Manhattan.

I find Streit’s products in the “ethnic” section of my grocery, but if you are in New York City, it’s probably front and center.

I love matzo ball soup and switched from Manischweitz brand boxed mix to Streit’s because Manischewitz puts MSG in theirs.  They don’t even try to hide it!  It’s just right out there in plain sight, right there on the ingredient list…MSG!  (Somehow, I don’t think Rabbi Dov Behr Manischewitz would approve.)

Streitz also makes a killer potato pancake mix and dozens of other products that I just can’t get here in the “Deep South”.  (lucky for me there’s a Jewish deli about 20 miles from me.  I would crawl on my hands and knees for their hamantash)

You can always make home-home-made. Here is a great recipe for Carrot Ginger and here’s another for Pumpkin Curry.

For all natural skincare products go to the MOON.



Categories: gluten free recipes, health, healthy cooking, healthy living blogs, nutrition

Tags: , , ,

21 replies

  1. Beautiful!! another great alternative. Also, for your Canadian readers, there is a company that puts out healthy, low sodium soups in glass jars. just thought i’d add my two cents 🙂 http://www.stocksandsoups.com/en/index.html

  2. Hi,
    I sent across an Amazon voucher by email. Please confirm receipt of it. Thanks! 🙂

  3. This one is handy! I want to try this soup kit! Thanks always for sharing useful and healthy info:-)

  4. I was using a canned earth’s best organic soup from whole foods for my son thinking I was being a good healthy citizen…after reading your BPA article, I am NOT buying that soup anymore…i will try these healthy box soups! Thanks savvy sis!

  5. Here in South Africa, we too get soup mixes like these except ours don’t have any spices or flavourings that come with the packet. So we need to add our own. I agree with you totally that this is the best alternative to canned soup which also are so fast and easy.

  6. Oh wow I’ve never heard of this! I am def going to have to try this..looks delicious!

  7. These look like great options to canned soups – thanks for the info about them.

  8. Thanks for sharing the findings in the previous post and then offering the alternative recommendation in this post.

    Thanks a bunch!

    Bernie

So whaddya think?

