Strontium for osteoporosis…if you’ve never heard of it, you will.

Please read the update 2014 at the end of the post.

I understand your time is valuable.  If you just have a minute, you can read the  conclusion at the end.                                   

                                                      First, understand this…  

We can’t talk about strontium without first talking about osteoporosis.  Osteoporosis is the thinning and weakening of bone tissue.  It seems everywhere you turn, you hear something about the rampant increase in cases of osteoporosis.   In my (and many others) opinion, the drug companies that make the expensive (and harmful) drugs to treat osteoporosis have created guidelines for determining risk for the illness (through studies funding) that puts a huge percentage of women and men in the “diseased” or “high risk” category.  Doctors use one test, the bone density test, to determine if you need treatment even though there are many factors that determine if you are at risk for the disease like your history of smoking, alcohol, and steroid intake, family history and more.

Today, 5 million Americans are following their doctor’s orders, (orders that are based on guidelines funded by the drug companies), and filling these medicines.  (My 85 year old Mom’s doctor actually told her she would “die soon from a hip fracture” if she didn’t take these drugs.)

natural eye make up remover
You can read all the FDA warning letters to the osteoporosis drug companies here. 
Realize, these drug companies are encouraging doctors to prescribe these drugs… with side effects like jaw bone death, bone cancer, and “unusual fractures”… to people who are just at risk for the disease as well as those who actually have it. Just this week (9/12/11) the FDA convened a special  meeting because of the reports of harmful longterm effects for these drugs.  The drug companies admit they don’t have long term safety studies because “…long term use wasn’t an issue. We treated sicker women in their 70’s and 80’s”. This is a quote from Dr Paul Miller, a representative with mega drug company Warner Chilcott, maker of Actonel.  He’s basically saying “we didn’t care what happened to these women longterm because, let’s face it, how much longer were they gonna live anyway.”
But now that men and women in their 40’s and 50’s are being told to take it for prevention, that may pose a problem for the drug companies….and for patients.

Today, in the USA, there are no alternatives for people who want to take a natural treatment instead of drugs to prevent or reverse osteoporosis.  Strontium may provide that alternative.

                                                           What is strontium?

We ingest strontium  every day as it is all around us in the enviornment. The strontium we ingest goes directly to our bones and is found there along with calcium and phosphorus. Interestingly, the body’s ability to absorb strontium decreases with age. A 1 year old can absorb 60% while a most adults only absorb 30%.

Strontium is also a chemical that occurs in nature and is usually found in naturally formed minerals.  It has a chemical composition much like calcium. For those of you who are science geeks, strontium’s symbol is Sr and its atomic number is 38 (but you already knew that, didn’t you).
All elements in nature can have a radioactive form, and strontium is no exception.  Strontium has been used for years in its radioactive form to treat bone cancer.  Strontium has many other forms.  If you Google “strontium” you may find it listed for bone cancer treatment, used in electronics, and used for the color red you see in fireworks.

natural osteoporosis cure

What do red fireworks have to do with treating osteoporosis?

Just like any other element or chemical, when combined with other elements, different compounds can be made with very different properties.  For example, let’s take sodium: sodium chloride is table salt and sodium fluoride is a harmful by-product of aluminum production.  Both start with the element sodium, but they end up being very different end products.

This is also the case with strontium.

Right now, in Europe, you can get a prescription for strontium ranelate (brand name: Protelos) to treat, and actually reverse, your osteoporosis.  The “ranelate” part is a synthetic chemical that when joined with strontium forms a stable compound for human ingestion.  The makers of the “drug” combined natural strontium with a man-made compound for one reason: patent rights.  Vitamins and minerals that occur in nature cannot be patented. The cost for strontium ranelate is the same as for the expensive pills and injections we have now in the US for osteoporosis (fosamax, forteo, boniva, actonel, etc)    But is this the only way you can get strontium? No.

Strontium has other forms.  Mainly, strontium citrate and strontium carbonate.  (sound familiar? Your two choices for calcium supplements are calcium citrate and calcium carbonate.  Remember, that strontium and calcium are very similar elements) These are “natural” and can be purchased in the US as vitamin supplements.  The normal daily dose to treat osteoporosis is 680mg/daily.

                                                            Does it work?

In a word: hell yeah. (ok two words)

Obviously, strontium in the form of strontium ranelate has been studied extensively and has shown to markedly improve the bone density tests. Studies show a 31% (yes, that’s thirty-one) reduction in bone fractures compared to a 1% loss in the control group that took a placebo and up to a 14% increase in bone density.   Longterm (8 years) studies confirm that there is continued benefit with longterm use even among older women (over 80 yeas old).
It was recently mentioned in Mayo Clinics newsletter as an emerging treatment for osteoporosis.  The newsletter stated strontium acts in a way that no other current treatment does with very little side effects. (the Mayo Clinic actually looked at strontium for use in treating osteoporosis in 1959 and found favorable results)  Dr Weil has also commented on it.

There is recent hard evidence that shows a comparison of current drug therapy (bisphophonates) with strontium ranelate.  The study shows “a notable increase in bone volume fraction after one year of SR (strontium ranelate) treatment compared to the bisphosphonate treatment period.”

Currently strontium ranelate is well tolerated, although there are some minor side effects of gastric upset. (I think I’ll take that over jaw bone death any day!)

If you live in Europe you can get strontium ranelate as a prescription from a medical professional.  It is given in doses of 2 g/day.

organic eye make up remover

If you live in the US, you can get other forms of strontium: Strontium citrate and strontium carbonate.

Again, because strontium citrate and carbonate are natural supplements, drug companies do not want to spend money on research for them.  There is, however some interesting research on animals that show some promising results.  One looked at strontium citrate as used on zebra fish, which have very similar bone make up to that of humans.  The fish that took the highest does of strontium citrate had significant increases in bone density and bone growth.
OK, you say, I’m not a fish.

There are ongoing studies to look at strontium citrate use and effectiveness in humans.  The results should be out very shortly.

Strontium citrate seems to be better tolerated than strontium carbonate.  It must be taken on an empty stomach and far away from calcium intake as the calcium will win the fight for absorption.

                                                      What can I do now?

If you are trying to prevent osteoporosis there are many things you can do:

  • take PLANT-BaSED (calcium derived from algae sources as opposed to limestone or shells) calcium according to the recommended dose for your age and sex (usually for adults its 1000-1200 mg /day) take it away from other meds and food.  Recent studies suggest you should take you daily dose divided into 4x/day doses to prevent the spikes in your blood calcium and subsequent negative effects
  • take vitamin D to aid calcium absorption
  • quit smoking
  • reduce alcohol intake
  • regular weight bearing exercise (walking, running, jumping rope, aerobics)
  • eat a mainly whole food plant-based diet. Foods like red meat, dairy, and alcohol along with preservatives and artificial ingredients cause your body to be acidic. Your body wants to be neutral so it will take calcium from your bones (the easiest place to get it)  to correct this.
If you have osteoporosis, do all the above.  If you choose to try strontium citrate, buy from a reputable company that does not use the scientific studies for strontium ranelate to substantiate the claims for citrate. This is false advertising and the company should not be trusted.
Also, check the ingredients. If the company is selling you a supplement that contains strontium citrate AND calcium together, you might as well just take the calcium as the two should not be taken together because the calcium will get to the bone receptors before the strontium does.If your doctor has prescribed one of the bisphosphonates (fosamax, actonel, boniva, forteo etc) do not stop it unless you talk to your doctor. All of these medicines take time to work.  They don’t work overnight.  If you doctor is open minded, they should be OK with you trying something else to see if it works.

                                                                  Conclusion:

  • osteoporosis is a weakening of the bones and affects millions of people worldwide
  • for severe cases, doctors only had drugs (like boniva, fosamax etc) to prescribe that have many harmful side effects
  • there is a new “drug” made from a natural chemical called strontium
  • strontium ranelate is currently used in Europe and many other countries with very strong evidence of reversing osteoporosis with very little side effects.  Its effects are better than that of the current drug therapy.
  • strontium citrate and strontium carbonate are available in the US, but there are no studies yet (although there are studies being done) to determine dose and effectiveness of those forms.
I’m sure the drug company that released strontium ranelate in Europe is busy working on their FDA approval for the USA.  The process for the FDA is extensive and takes years, so it may be that long before we see anything on the market in the US.
In the meantime, it is your choice to try the strontium preparations available now as a supplement.  Normal dose of strontium supplements are 680mg or less/day.  Please experiment responsibly and conduct your own research.This post is not meant to diagnose or treat any illness.  If you choose to take                               a strontium supplement, it is your choice.* it is estimated that about half of the bone density reading in people being treated with strontium ranelate is caused by the “reflection” of the compound in the bone.  These studies were also validated using a bone biopsy, where a needle is inserted into the bone and some of the bone is actually removed for examination.  This is expressed as a percentage of bone surface. The strontium subjects showed 2.94% increase while the bisphosphonate subjects showed 0.2% increase.Addendum: After my doctors blessing,  I have chosen to start to take Strontium citrate.  The normal dose is 2 capsules/day, but I am starting with one…if I can tolerate it I will go to 2.  There is some minor stomach upset, but nothing terrible. I will keep you posted on progress and post the comparison of my bone density studies when I have the next one in late 2012.New 11/2012: Strontium ranelate saves knees.

Update 2014: New information about the safety of bisphosphonates has been made available.  Bisphosphonates are causing heart arrhythmias. 

Strontium is also showing instances of arrhythmias and the European board has advised restriction on Strontium’s use.  The form of strontium used in Europe is strontium ranalate.  It’s unclear whether it’s the ranalate portion of this medication that is causing the problem…

The over the counter form of strontium in the US is strontium citrate.   Please be informed of all information if you decide to take this.

 



Categories: health, health and wellness, healthy living blogs, vitamin supplements

Tags: , , , , , , ,

66 replies

  1. It’s now 2016 and I would love to see more current comments, especially from women who have been taking Sr for a number of years.

    I have osteoporosis and my last bone scan showed 12% decrease of my hip and almost 4% decrease of my spine. My doctor wants me to take Prolia or Evista. I asked him about Sr and he said no, but gave no reason. My guess is because Sr is not FDA approved.

    Well, I say no to the pharmaceutical drugs because of the side effects and started Sr two weeks ago.

    I would like to know if people who have been on Sr are still experiencing improved BMD (bone mass density.)

  2. If you are taking Bonviva can you also take Doctors Best Strontium?

    • Yes they work in different ways, but you should take apart from one another just to ensure proper absorption. You’ll need to take calcium as well (at least 2 hours before or 4 hours after the strontium) Thanks for asking!

  3. I took Protelos [Strontium Ranelate] for 2 years and unfortunately for me there was no improvement. I am at a T score of minus 4 in my lower spine. I as also taking Calichew D3. I took my Protelos religiously for the 2 year period. I am now on Bonviva it is very upsetting that there is so little research and indeed so little education on Osterporise prevention in a natural way. I hate having to take these drugs when there are so many reports of side effects etc.

  4. i have to stress to everyone. It’s so important to take D3, Magnesium and K2-MK7. It makes sure the calcium goes to your bones instead of your blood vessels and heart! Which could very well cause heart arrhythmia and a host of other issues. Also take algae sourced calcium. I also take krill oil. I only take 1 strontium a day. I think it’s a good overall plan to prevent osteoporosis and heart issues!

  5. I took Strontium Citrate for a year (along with Evista, a osteo pharmaceutical and a good bone builder with boron etc.) and gained 9% bone mass. The following year I only took the pharmaceutical and lost 7% of that bone mass…..so it seems that the natural way can be a good, or better, than the drugs.

    I tried Actonel for 5 weeks (one pill a week) in 2015 and got so incredibly sick that I could not believe that 5 little pills could do that much harm. 5 months later I still am fainting/fainty, heart is beating strangely, dizzy, upset stomach and GI system, totally fatigued and headachy and achey all over. They have tested me for all sorts of things and cannot find anything else that might have caused all of this.

    I have now spent over $1,000 at acupuncture etc trying to get my body back to some sort of balance.
    The doctor says that my core energy has been thrown out of balance…..now I am also depressed.

    Be very careful what you choose to take for your osteoporosis and watch closely for symptoms. I thought I had the flu….but it was the Actonel.

    Susan

  6. I tried the algae cal but I think I had a reaction to it. I swelled up.

  7. This blog is very confusing. Is strontium an option or not? Many of the posts seem to favor it but the news on the top discounts.

    • I’m sorry you are confused. When I wrote the original article, I was taking it, but in the past few months, the studies have come out that it may cause heart irregularities. This was one study, and may or may not be accurate. it is not my place to tell you what to take or not. I am just presenting the facts and then it’s your job to decide. Thanks for your comment!

      • Thank you for clarifying. I am so confused about what to do about osteoporosis. J. Solay

        • You’re not alone. The best things you can do don’t involve pharmaceuticals. Mainly get off dairy and meat, exercise, exercise, and more exercise (did i mention exercise?) Eating alkaline promoting foods like greens, drinking lemon juice infused water during the day, avoiding salt. Taking plant-based calcium. The osteoporosis problem is highest in developed countries….Thanks for visiting!

  8. Am I missing something. I don’t see where this blog continues after November 4 2013. I would like to know what your results were. Thank you

    • In light of the irregular heart beat info (see the top line of the post) I stopped taking it. I have a tendency for irregular heartbeats as it is, and I didn’t want to chance it. I’ll wait for more info and see if i can start again. My bone density test scores were slightly worse in November 2013, but I didn’t expect them to improve….just stabilize….they were worse. I’ve just come off my Femara, which was zapping my estrogen and making my bones worse, so I’ll get retested in 2 years to see the effect of that.
      Thanks for your comment!

  9. I recently got my bone density results after taking strontium for a year. I showed a small increase in my spine but my doc thinks it was just a progression of some arthritis in that area of my spine. I’m an optimist, though, and would like to think it was the strontium. We decided to take a break from the Evista for a while and just rely on the strontium, calcium, and exercise. Also, my doc thinks that not having any loss is actually great since normally there’s a small loss in bone mass each year. The next Dexa will be interesting.

  10. I’m due for a bone scan this year. I’ve been taking strontium for a year in July. I wanted to be on it for a full year before the bone scan was done so I could see the full results. I’ve been on Evista for at least five years and have not lost any bone mad, but haven’t gained any either. Any gain I may have will be due to the strontium so I’m VERY interested in the results. Stay tuned!

    • Please post your results! I am very interested. I have a bone scan scheduled for September of this year. I am a bit frustrated by the strontium and how I can’t take it for more than 4 days at a time before my stomach starts hurting. I have changed to a plant-based calcium and I’ve been exercising a whole lot more, so we’ll see..
      Thanks for you comment..can’t wait to see where you are.

      • Have you tried taking it with food? I take mine with dinner, unless I forgot to take it then and I end up taking it before bed. It can give me a mild acid indigestion but that’s about the only problem I have taking it. I make sure not to take any time close to my calcium.

  11. Hello there! Lovely page you have. 🙂 I have made several attempts to get on a strontium regimen (citrate, from Vitacost, because they’re so cheap) and the most recent has probably been going on for about 3 weeks. The “attempts” are because I have a lot of trouble establishing routines, not because I have had trouble with the strontium per se.
    I have a friend who has taken it for a long time, and at one point, she had a bone scan and reported a 7% improvement. She attributes it to the strontium, however I do believe that overlapped a time period where she also added D3. She had been taking coral calcium for many years, so I don’t know if adding the D3 to the calcium was partially responsible. I also don’t know how long it was between when she started the strontium and when she had the bone scan, but I can find out. There may have been other factors that contributed, but none that are apparent.
    It would be great to see more reports from people on this thread as to the bone scan results after taking the strontium.
    In my case, I won’t be able to get an accurate assessment, because I got a scan years ago that indicated osteoporosis. I’ve done virtually nothing about it. [I know. Horrifying.] And so now, I don’t have a starting point. I guess I could go get one soon. I don’t like all the radiation, and I had a lot of radiation-related tests last year…. If anyone would like to encourage me to go get another scan soon as part of getting serious about this, please feel free.
    I also did something probably stupid over the past year. I read about how calcium can be a negative factor in heart disease — especially without D3 and K2. I got so freaked out that I stopped taking it. It’s only over the past week, that I’m starting to try to establish a routine of taking food-based calcium, which I feel more comfortable with. (sigh)
    Guess I’ve said more than enough. Thanks for the great blog. 🙂

  12. How and who came up with the dosage amounts for strontium citrate?

  13. Glad to be of help. Just trying to look at all the facts! Thanks again for having dug them out yourself for all of us.

  14. Hello again- I wrote the last comment. Just want to say that I am very positive about strontium and want to give it a try – not trying to be “negative”here in anyway – just reading through all your material and found that inconsistency. Thank you for all your hard work here!

  15. Think you are misreading some of the studies. Just clicked on the link where you said “Studies show a 31% (yes, that’s thirty-one) improvement in bone density tests* compared to a 1% loss in the control group that took a placebo.” In the study they say –
    Treatment with strontium ranelate was associated with a significant 31% decrease in all clinical osteoporotic fractures (vertebral fractures included). Decrease in clinical osteoporotic fractures and bone density is NOT the same thing.

  16. It’s worth a try. I think everyone’s system is different. I have to take it with something in my stomach, but if you can tolerate to at bedtime I say “go for it!”

  17. FYI, it appears that the Citrate version is actually more efficacious (proven in rats anyway). Not that the patent owners of the Ranelate product would want us to know.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22995463
    “Bone strontium levels in rats administered strontium citrate were significantly greater (p<0.05) than rats administered strontium ranelate"

  18. I haven’t heard of Strontium causing anything like that. Just trying to use logic here: Synovial fluid comes from the joints, not the bone, so I can’t imagine it would affect it, but I will look into it.

    I didn’t have the bone density done because (Alleluia) I can come off my aromatase inhibitor (the cause of my low numbers) in 9 months. That should improve my density, so there was no sense in doing a test now. I’ll have one done after I’ve been off for a while and then start comparing again.

    Please let me know your progress and if you have some density numbers to compare.
    Thanks for taking the time to comment Bonnie!

    • I haven’t heard of stontium causing causing synovial cysts either, which is why I’m still taking it. There was some “Calcinosis”, and the MD mentioned spurs but I didn’t see this listed on the X-ray report. I just want to make sure that the extra growth in bone mass doesn’t cause irritation leading to these cysts. If you see anything in the research, let me know.

  19. I was wondering if you had your bone density done? Did the strontium make a difference? I’ve been taking it since July. I developed a “very large” synovial cyst between my L4/L5 vertebra and had to have surgery to remove it on Sept 28th. I’m developing another one on my left hand. I can’t imagine that the strontium has anything to do with it, but the thought entered my head. I was also exercising strenuously which probably injured the joints and caused the growth if the cysts. Have you heard of strontium causing issues like this?

  20. Evista is not indicated for women who have had invasive breast cancer, just those at high risk. I had stage III. Your BC must have been in situ, right?

    • Yes, it was. I had a mastectomy and reconstruction on New Years Eve 1996 for Ductal in situ. It was listed as Stage I since there was one slide that showed it broke away from the duct and was becoming invasive in that spot. Since it covered such a large area, he didn’t feel he could do a Lumpectomy. He felt that by the time he found the margins there wouldn’t be much left of the breast anyway. I didn’t need chemo or radiation. Now, with all the new techniques, I can’t help wondering if I’d have needed the mastectomy if I had it today. Lots of new treatment these days!

  21. I’ve been on Strontium 680 mg for the past couple of months (Vitacost.com) to give a boost to my bone mass. I found your site doing a little more research into it. My friend (we’re both nurses) said she heard that it acts like Fosamax and will also make your bones brittle just like Fosamax. I was taking Fosamax when I broke my leg 8 years ago. I’m convinced it actually caused the bone to break. I wonder if she’s referring to Strontium ranelate version, rather than the citrate? My doctor allowed me to try it but if it’s going to cause the same problem as Fosamax, I’ll stop. He has me on Evista for bone growth since I had breast cancer in 1996 and it helps prevent cancer in the remaining breast, along with building bone. My bone mass remains on the borderline between osteopenia and osteoporosis even though I exercise and take calcium and VitD.

    • I have no doubt that it was the Fosamax that contributed to the break.
      As far as making your bones brittle like Fosamax, that’s not what the research has found. Strontium strengthens both the out layer (compact) and inner layers (spongy) bone. Fosamax only temporarily strengthens the outer layer, leaving the inner layer weak. If you are both nurse, I assume you have broken glass ampules before. They are easy to break because even though the glass is strong, the right amount of pressure will break right through because the inside is hollow. It’s the same idea with Fosamax. The Fosamax studies use bone density to prove effectiveness
      Strontuim on the other hand, strengthens both layers of bone, and the studies use bone density and bone marrow sampling to measure density, as bone density does not give an accurate reading for the inner layers of bone mass.

      This is based on the studies I’ve found, and I’m assuming since there is a push to get approval here in the states, there will be more, but the politics of the pharmaceutical industry are complex.

      I am always looking for new research, but I can’t read everything. If you find out anything to the contrary, please let me know.
      Good luck to you and thanks for commenting!

      • Thanks for the info! Since you’re also a cancer survivor, I’m curious as to why your Doc didn’t suggest Evista? (Other than it’s expensive and hasn’t really raised my bone mass, just kept it from falling maybe).

  22. Thank you for taking the time to share this info. I have been on Fosomax,and then Actonel for ten years now. I was told to stop a few years back, only to have BDT and told to go back on. I am now 60 years old, scores of 2.8 and 3.0. I am under an endocrinologist ‘s care and was just told of three choices. Be conservative and do what I have been doing,, take a drug holiday or be aggressive and start Forteo. The side effects and black box warning have me concerned. The side effects of the Actonel do as well. My friend who is a nutritionist told me to check out the mineral Strontium. That’s how I got to you. I will discuss with my regular doctor and prefer to take the drug holiday and start the Strontium.

    • So glad you are researching your options when it comes to treatment. If your doctor is current on his/her research they will know of Strontium and will not be adverse to your trying it. If you do your homework, I assume you are also including vitamin D3, at least 1000 mg, with some form of Vitamin K in your diet as well to aid absorption. If you have been prescribed calcium, make it plant-based calcium like from algae as opposed to shells or stone as plant-based calciums have been proven to be better absorbed and utilized by the body. And, of course I can’t omit mentioning the importance of weight bearing exercise.

      Please also keep in mind that your “scores” for risk should encompass all your risk factors for osteo (smoking history, family fracture history, steroid use, etc), not only your bone density test results.

      If you have a good relationship with your doctor, and they aren’t threatened by their patients educating themselves, he/she should be on board with you giving it a try.
      As mentioned, I am unable to tolerate 2 pills a day because of stomach upset. I would certainly recommend taking one a day to start out.
      Good luck! I would love to know your progress!

  23. Recently found out I have Osteoporosis-at 61 ya
    Like others, looking for an alternative.
    Tx to all forsharing
    2questions:
    1) pls give good strontium provider rference
    2) what type of Dr is the one that does
    It like biophosphates? That is all that has been offered from family doc and rhuematologist

    Thanks
    Mary

    • Hi Mary! 1) There are many on the market. The one I take is “Doctors Best Strontium Bone Maker” It’s 340 mg. One of the reasons I like this brand is that the capsules are 100% plant-based. They use cellulose for the capsule base instead of gelatin, which is animal based. I am unable to tolerate the 2 capsules/day that is the normal dosage and can only tolerate 1/day because of stomach upset. I’m sure there are other good supplement companies out there providing strontium, and I suspect you will see more.

      2)Usually it’s your primary care MD that will prescribe, or a naturopth (ND). SOmetimes the promary care doc will send you to an endocrinologist(hormone doctor) if it’s a female and it’s menopause related osteoporosis.

      Good luck Mary and keep searching good information to decide on the best treatment for you. It’s your body.

  24. i take strontioum but still have lately a fraction on L3 i do excercise twice a day

  25. Clarko thanks so much for sharing that information. I’m sure there are some reading that would question whether it is worth it. Thanks also for emphasizing the importance of exercise in the osteoporosis picture!

  26. if the active ingredient in strontium ranelate and strontium citrate are the same why are the doses so different? Sc is only .680 grams while Sr is triple that at 2 grams.

    • The dose is 680 mg of elemental strontium from 1944mg of strontium citrate. The drug company may use the entire mg for ranelate and that’s how it’s dosed. I will try to see if I can find out how much elemental strontium is in ranelate. Thanks for your question!

      • oh the ‘elemental’ explanation makes sense. I have been taking 680mg of Sc for a year (have premenopause low bone density). My spine increased 6% and is now normal. Hips had only a small insignificant increase. They dont get nearly as much weight bearing exercise as the spine. My forearm is above normal density, this is from years of weighted exercise. My nails have at least tripled in density in the last year since taking Sc. Sc is doing something! I plan to keep taking it.

      • Clarko (below) refers to Sc (scandium). I think she means Sr (strontium).

      • no Cam, Ive never heard of scandium. Sc refers to strontium citrate. Sr is the chemical element symbol for strontium. But its strontium citrate that is sold as an over the counter supplement.

  27. Hi-
    My doctor suggested that I research strontium and I am considering taking it in lieu of Boniva (my dr does not want me taking any of the usual drugs even tho I have osteoporosis). The bottle I bought does not say anything about taking on an empty stomach – just more than 2 hours before or after taking a calcium supplement. Could you please let know the rationale for taking strontium on an empty stomach? Thanks!
    Jo
    PS I understand that many calcium supplements should be taken with food to help with absorption (unless the supplement is food based). Would that thinking apply to strontium? Thanks again!

    • The thought about taking it on an empty stomach is to insure that no absolutely no calcium foods etc are taken with it. Strontium is extremely competitive with calcium. You can certainly take it with food, but not with any dairy or almonds…high calcium foods etc. Check the labels for “added calcium”.
      I actually tried taking it daily and tolerated it well for the first 3 months. Then began getting stomach upset…nothing terrible, but it was upset none the less. I am trying to take it for several days until I feel stomach problems, then I stop for several days…then back on etc. Not the best way to take it, but it’s better than nothing. I have friends that take it and don’t have any issues. I could not tolerate 2 capsules taken together. I find the stomach issues are less if I take it right before bedtime and that eliminates me having to avoid anything that might interfere as I take my calcium breakfast lunch and dinner.

      Still waiting for Strontium Ranelate to be approved in this country…if the politics will allow it. It was supposed to be sometime in 2013, but I can’t find any info to see if that still will go through. There seems to be much less stomach upset with the ranelate structure added to it, but I think it’s still around 30%.

      Good luck! Please tell me how things go.

  28. Thank you for your article. I too just learned about strontium from someone who saw the Dr. Oz show. I am scheduled for my second dose of Reclast in a couple of weeks and have reservations about taking those drugs. I will cancel my Reclast appointment and start taking the strontium after talking to my doctor.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. Please discuss this in great detail with your doctor as there are many things to consider. But don’t be surprised if your doctor has never heard of strontium! Let me know what happens

  29. thank u for offering this infor. This is extremely important for post menopausal women, and women w/osteoporosis. I just learned of it from Dr.Oz. He mentioned nothing about Ranelate or citrate!

    • So glad I could help! I guess I will have to teach Dr Oz some things eh? My oncologist loved the idea of me taking strontium and I can’t wait to see if it made a difference in my bone density test. Thanks for taking time to comment !

Trackbacks

  1. Strontium osteoporosis | Unidompus

So whaddya think?

