How To Eat Broccoli and Like It: Broccoli Nuggets Recipe

Don’t be a (broccoli) hater!

vegan broccoli nuggets

This is broccoli….under cover.

In a recent comment from Whatsaysyou I was asked to come up with a broccoli recipe as broccoli is their favorite veggie.

rinsing broccoli

Beautiful broccoli gets a shower

Personally I love broccoli, but I think it gets a “bad rap”.  It’s that one veggie that most kids will say they hate and everyone makes fun of.  Parents try to get their kids to eat it by smothering it with cheese–not the best way to eat your veggies!

Here is broccoli done a whole new way….. in nugget form!  You could fool anybody with this recipe and actually get them to like their broccoli.

This is an original recipe by the Savvy Sister (with some help from my ultimate taste critic, the Savvy Sister’s daughter).  Please give this one a try.  It makes a great appetizer or hors d’ourve for a party.  You could try to slip this one to your kids instead of chicken nuggets, or serve as a side dish or as a main dish with a salad or some rice pasta.

Everyone knows broccoli is healthy.  Broccoli is a “super food”.  It has 131% of the RDA fro vitamin C in 1 cup.  The compound sulforaphane, found in broccoli (as well as the other cruciferous veggies like cabbage and brussel sprouts),  has been shown to have a cancer fighting effect.   A recent study showed that it blocked development of breast cancer cells specifically, and it is the subject of many studies to see how it well it fights prostate cancer.  Preliminary studies also show that it protects the heart from inflammatory responses and in turn, protects against atherosclerosis (heart disease).

Eating raw broccoli contains more sulforaphane than cooked.

(if you are interested in partaking in research to help scientists study broccoli and sulforaphane and how it can help with various illnesses, click here)

red quinoa

Cooked red quinoa…..Protein never looked so pretty!

 

                                          

The Savvy Sister’s Broccoli Nuggets
Makes 25 – 30 nuggets

Ingredients:

  • 1 large head of broccoli
  • 1/2 cup prepared (red) quinoa* (I used red, but standard would work)
  • olive oil
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 6 scallions, greens only, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 15 oz can of chick peas (garbanzos) rinsed
  • 1-2 tsp sea salt 
  •  1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp celery salt
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour (I didn’t use it, but I’m sure rice flour would work also)
  • 1 cup matzo meal (I like matzo meal because it has one ingredient: flour)
  • 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning (optional)

*Quinoa (pronounced KEEN-Wah) is a seed that provides “perfect protein” for any diet.  It provides your body with all essential amino acids (protein building blocks the body needs to function) and also contains B vitamins, zinc, copper, manganese, potassium riboflavin and vitamin E.  It is also high in fiber.

Topping sauce (optional)

  • 1/2 cup veganaise or regular mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp pure maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Cook quinoa according to package directions. Set aside.
  2. Wash and cut broccoli into florets.  Add to salted boiling water and cook for 5 minutes.   Drain immediately.
  3. Saute scallions, onion and garlic in 2 tsp olive oil over medium heat until onions are translucent. (about 10 minutes)
  4. Add all ingredients except whole wheat flour to food processor.  Add 2 tsp olive oil and pulse until blended.  Process on high until smooth.
  5. Transfer to bowl and add the 1/4 cup whole wheat flour.  Mix well.
  6. Combine the matzo meal, oil and Old Bay in a separate small bowl.  (Gosh I love Old Bay…)
  7. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in frying pan (preferably cast iron)over medium heat or use cooking spray.
  8. Drop a generous tablespoon of broccoli mixture into the matzo meal mix and coat.  Form into a nugget and place in pan.  Cook both sides about 3 minutes each until golden.
  9. For optional sauce, combine 1/2 cup soy or regular mayo with 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp pure maple syrup. Mix well. Spoon a bit of sauce over nuggets and garnish with chopped scallions if you want to get fancy.
I stole this sauce from my spaghetti squash pancake recipe.  If anyone comes up with a better sauce for the Broccoli Nuggets, please let me now.  We tried honey mustard…(umm….not ).  I brought some next door for littler kids to try (because my kids are big), and the review was great!
I would love to know your thoughts on this one!
Below is a short video of how to cook:

Makes 25 – 30 nuggets.  Serving size 4 nuggets.
Nutrition per serving of 4:
Calories: 177, fat: 5.7 g, protein: 6.5 g, fiber: 5 g, carbs: 26.5 g, sodium: (1 tsp in mix) 416 mg, Vitamin C: 67% RDA, iron: 24% RDA



Categories: cooking, healthy cooking, healthy diet, healthy recipes, vegan recipes, vegetarian recipes

Tags: , , , ,

18 replies

  1. I love broccoli and nuggets so… looks good to me!
    I can’t get the matzo flour and I need a gf replacement. What do you recommend please?
    Great site by the way, reading with interest. Savvy so right!

  2. could I bake them not fry them??

    • Baking dries them out. You could broil or try to pan sautee using a tiny bit of vegetable broth, Remember,, you aren’t “cooking” them because they could be eaten raw. you’re just cripsing them to get them to stay together. You could also forego the ‘breading” and use it as filling for a sandwich or veggie wrap. Thanks for the question!

  3. Great stuff keep up the good work. I hope you don’t mind me sharing it with my clients. Always looking for good ways to get them to change their habits regarding food. I am a sleep trainer but believe most of the problems relate to the food.

    • Wow! A sleep trainer! I didn’t even know that was a profession! I’m sure you are a very busy person! Thanks for your comment!Food gives us many problems, but it’s a hard habit to change, isn’t it?

  4. Looking for a good recipe for my adventurous toddler… but I think this might appeal to the entire household! Thanks — will let you know what she thinks 🙂

  5. Eat your broccoli nuggets sounds fantastic 🙂 I would give this recipe a try

  6. Wow, those nuggets look good!! I’ve been having stomach issue and have no desire to eat meat at the moment, so this looks even more appealing to me right now. I actually love broccoli, so this would be good. I wonder if I could just replace matzo meal with flour as I don’t think we can find it here in Jakarta.

  7. I love broccoli – I recently found an amazing recipe for broccoli soup which has taken over the town I live in since I blogged about it – I am so going to try this. 🙂

  8. Will try this one for sure! Love quinoa and always looking for new ways to use it! Thanks!!

  9. YUM! can’t wait to try Savvy Sis! Thanks

So whaddya think?

