Are you really alive?

having fun

When nuns are having more fun than I am, something's wrong! (taken from the "Nuns Having Fun" calendar)

Does it seem like everyone else is enjoying their lives, and you are just doing what you have to in order to survive?

Enjoying our lives is probably the hardest thing for us to do.  We know that life is short, and we have to make the most of it, but sometimes life itself gets in the way.  I always took at “the other girl”  and think “if I could only enjoy myself like that…”.

Do you ever feel this way?  What do you do to get out of the rut?

Answer this poll and check back on the results to see how many feel the same way.



Categories: happiness, health, thoughts

Tags: , , , , ,

17 replies

  1. OK one more comment then I’m getting back to work…
    I’m definitely sending this to my boyfriend (is 45 too old to be calling your man a “boyfriend”?). He is constantly looking at other people and wondering why he is not enjoying life like them.
    I love my life! Yeah, I have cancer, I am bald and I have one boob. I also have a wonderful “boyfriend”, three great kids, a nice home, a good reliable vehicle, a great job, an awesome garden……………
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

  2. Great post!! I love the photo you posted and your sense of humor. I’m glad I’m not the only one who is having difficult time or sometimes just surviving. Grass is definitely greener on the other side. As I get older though, I try to enjoy every moment especially when with kids. Thanks for the insightful post!

  3. As to getting out of the dreaded “rut”, I think it’s just a matter of breaking down all of our goals into “microgoals” and making the effort to at least work on one everyday, eventually there will be a body of work that will make it all worthwhile(even if the goal is to just have fun for once.)

    • This is a great idea…..(i say as I eye the stack of tax return documents I have yet to sift through…)Thanks for your comment!

      • Hey Susan, Unrelated to this most recent post, will you kindly forward to me your post about the use of clorox bleach? I keep all your posts but can’t find that one and want to forward to a friend who uses it not only in every load of her laundry but also to clean her family’s dishes. Oh! Thx much

  4. I love this survey. I often feel despondant these days. I think it’s age catching up and I try my best to be more hopeful. I really do want to savour every moment and live in the moment as much as I can.

  5. the nuns on the bumpercars made me smile on a stressful day, thanks!

  6. I used to look at the way other people spend their time a lot, and then reflect on my own life concluding I should change something. But I think people often tend to forget that we are all different people travelling different paths. We all have our own way of doing things, so why change yourself and do it the way others do it, instead of doing it your own way? Plus very often we only see the results of other people’s choices, not the possible “struggle” or barriers that had to be overcome to reach that result…

    • This is so true….the grass looks greener, but we can’t tell if that’s astroturf! I always like to give people the benefit of the doubt when it comes to moods as they may be carrying some heavy baggage that we can’t see.
      Thanks for your comment!

  7. I voted 50/50 too, hurray! I’m in the majority!
    Maybe I should put more effort into savoring more moments, though. Thanks for the idea.

  8. Good one Savvy Sis! I do find myself looking at others wondering why they are having more fun that me…makes ya think..which is good..now i have to act on it!

So whaddya think?

