Amazing (Dairy-Free) Chocolate Cake…no tofu!

yes...this cake IS as good as it looks!!

I always have to say “no tofu” when I write vegan, because people always think that when recipes are “vegan” or “vegetarian”, then it must contain tofu. (and who wants to eat that stuff! *wink wink*)

So this chocolate cake recipe comes from my favorite restaurant, Cafe Sunflower. If you ever are in Atlanta, I highly recommend.  You can get the Cafe Sunflower cookbook here.

This cake has no refined sugar (minus the frosting) and no dairy or eggs. To make it vegan, you could probably replace the honey with maple syrup, but I have not tried this.

I altered this recipe a bit.  As a cardiac nurse, I just could not bring myself to put 2 cups of oil into this cake.  So I used an old  trick I used to tell my patients in Cardiac Rehab and cut the oil in half, replacing half of the oil with applesauce.  You can do this with any recipe.

This cake came out so moist and light…I was really surprised….and hungry…

egg replacer can be found in most health food specialty stores

One of the ingredients in this recipe is egg replacer.  This is a non-animal product that acts the way eggs do in baking and cooking.  You can’t use these for scrambled eggs…..just in recipes. Organic free-range eggs are not bad…..necessarily.  This is for those who want to reduce animal products in their diet.

Dairy-free Chocolate Cake

1 cup sifted white-wheat or white flour

1 cup sifted self-rising flour

3/4 cup un-sweeteened cocoa (organic is best)

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 cups oil (or 1 cup oil and 1 cup natural applesauce)

1 1/2 cups honey

3/4 cup soy, almond, or rice milk

2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

egg replacer: in a separate cup beat 4 1/2 tsp egg replacer and 6 TBS oil for one minute right before adding to recipe

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2 9 inch round baking pans.
  2. Mix flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
  3. Mix honey, oil, (applesauce), soy, almond, or rice milk, and vanilla in another bowl.
  4. add the dry and wet ingredients together in another big bowl and mix for 30 seconds on low speed
  5. add the constituted egg replacer and mix for 2 minutes on medium-high speed
  6. Batter will be thin.  Pour batter into prepared pans and bake 30 minutes (40 if you used the applesauce)
  7. cool completely before frosting

Here’s what the wet ingredients should look like.

OK…about the frosting…..

There is a recipe for chocolate frosting with the cake which looks good, but really, the cake is so chocolatey and heavenly, that the frosting really was too much.

Also, the frosting calls for soy margarine, which I have to say, had a bit of an after-taste.  It also contains hydrogenated oils, which I am not a fan of.  It really looked good, and my daughter liked it, but if I make it again, (and I will make it again) I will probably put no-sugar fruit spread like St Dalfour (no sugar or preservatives or additives in their jellies…very tasty!!) and then finish the top with a light dusting of powdered sugar or some additional whole fruit…I’m thinking raspberries would be good.

Here’s the recipe for the frosting.  Try it yourself…..my dentist told me to scrape my tongue…maybe I’m scraping my taste buds off as well…..

Frosting:

2 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

1 cup cocoa powder

2 sticks soy margarine, softened

3/4 cups soy milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Whip with an electric mixer until creamy…then whip some more (in other words…whip it good)

Chill well and spread on cooled cake.

Keep refrigerated as the frosting is a bit softer than buttercream.

ummm.don't soften the soy margarine in the microwave...it's softer than butter

I can’t make this cake too often because I eat a little bit every time I pass the fridge….so does my picky family.

Enjoy!!! And if you make it, let me know what you think!

I also have a great truly vegan recipe for chocolate beet-root frosted cupcakes that does not use egg replacer.  The frosting on those is better than the soy margarine frosting here.

You can go here for that recipe



Categories: cooking, diet, health, healthy cooking, healthy diet, vegan recipes

Tags: , , ,

10 replies

  1. this is the best cake ever. now that i live outside ATL i can’t have it! thanks for publishing the recipe!!

  2. This looks like a fun recipe, altho’ if one is going gluten free as well or cannot eat wheat or yeast, it mightn’t be doable. it makes a pretty presentation for the table as well. very nicely written, lots of fun visual appeal. I may have to find ways of playing around with a few ingredients when a friend’s birthday might call for a specialty cake.

  3. Do you think you could use ‘egg beaters’ vs. egg replacer? Not sure how expensive egg replacer is, but I am also not sure if you can bake with egg beaters.

    Thanks!

    • No. Egg beaters are just egg whites. In baking, you need the chemical composition of the whole egg to do that voodoo that is done in the oven to make the ingredients behave and make a cake, “a cake”. You could probably use whole eggs in the recipe, but the idea of the recipe is to limit animal products and therefore, eliminate eggs.
      You could play around with the recipe…and see what happens…

  4. Yum! Sounds good…printing the recipe and going to give it a try!

  5. It looks like you’re a great cook. 🙂 I’m sure your diet helps you have a happier and healthier physical life! This is a video of me explaining how to have a happier and healthier spiritual life:

    http://thesongofsolomonandyahweh.blogspot.com/2010/11/feeling-close-to-god.html

    I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Take good care,
    Jason

So whaddya think?

