Creamy and Delicious Pumpkin/Curry Soup

In my last post detailing the health benefits of pumpkins, I gave a link to a pumpkin soup recipe and said I would try it and post pics.

Here it is!

creamy vegan pumpkin soup

Creamy...without the cream!

 

I re-vamped the recipe, made it healthier….took out the dairy……substituted some things…and it is now creamy, pumpkin perfection!

The house smelled so good while this was simmering on the stove.  This soup would be great on a cold night with some home-made brown bread or a salad with cranberries.

All ingredients, of course, would be best organic, and there is a lot of leverage with spices…this can have a kick or not depending on how much extra curry powder you use.

Ingredients

1 TBS canola or olive oil

1 cup chopped onion (1 medium)

1/2 tsp salt (I use sea salt)

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 TBS curry powder and 2 tsp olive oil mixed together

2 crushed garlic cloves

4 cups (low sodium) vegetable broth

1 small pie pumpkin (4 cups cooked) or 4 cups canned

1 cup chopped toasted walnuts or pine nuts

1 cup low-fat coconut milk, soy milk,  rice milk, or almond milk

soy yogurt and chopped coriander springs for garnish(if you want to get all “Martha” on me)

If nuts are not toasted, place in 8 x 8 pan and bake for 15 – 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

Instructions:

1. Place whole pumpkin on a cookie sheet or in  oven safe bakeware and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour until a fork can easily pierce the flesh.  (you can do this ahead and refrigerate for 2 days)

2.  In large pot, heat 1 TBS oil over medium heat.  Add onion and 2 crushed garlic cloves, salt, pepper, and cook without browning, until tender and translucent, about 10 minutes.  Stir in the curry powder and oil mixture.  Stir in vegetable stock and bring to a boil over medium-high heat.

3.  Add soft cooked pumpkin to pot and return to boil.  Boil lightly for 5 minutes.

4.  Transfer half of the pumpkin mixture to a blender and add half the nuts.  Process until smooth (and then process 1 minutes more–you don’t want tiny pieces of nuts…you want it to be smooth) Please be careful when putting hot liquid in a blender. Leave the top open covered by a clean dishtowel for venting when blending. I tried using a hand held blender, but it didn’t get the soup creamy enough for me.

5.  Return pumpkin-nut mix back to pot and whisk in your choice of milk.  Heat over low heat until heated all the way through. Do not over heat or boil.

Garnish as desired. I like to use a sprinkle of cinnamon.

This, as I mentioned, passed the husband-who-won’t-eat-anything-good-for-him test.

I ended up adding a bit more curry powder to my bowl because I like curry and because turmeric (one of the curry spices) is one of the best cancer fighting foods out there.

Enjoy!!



Categories: health, healthy cooking, healthy living, healthy living blogs, healthy recipes, vegan recipes, vegetarian recipes

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 replies

  1. I made a copycat version of Panera Bread’s Autumn Squash soup last night (but left out the heavy cream) and I will be trying this recipe next. I’ll have to pretend it’s soup-weather in balmy Houston!

  2. As a pumpkin fan, I would definitely give this soup a go 🙂

  3. how can I watch the videos – it says they are private. I WILL be making this soup though!!!

  4. *writes down recipe for fake chili*

    This recipe has now been embedded into my permanent memory.

    Haha 😉

  5. OK…aren’t you supposed to live somewhere warm for the winter??
    I know you will like the fake chili…..and if you make it for her, I bet you get more than just a full belly….

  6. I would definitely eat it if it was a cold night by the fire.

    It’ll be too cold to find any pumpkins this winter though (I live in Russia during winter)

    Perhaps I’ll try making your “fake” chili instead 😉

  7. “husband-who-won’t-eat-anything-good-for-him”

    Hmm, I’ve been called this before too.

    Can’t say that I’ll eat this, but I’m sure my fiance will 🙂

  8. Hope this is on the menu for George’s B-day dinner!

  9. Trader Joe’s has very good Soy Yogurt if you have a Joe’s near you, but the soy yogurt is just for garnish, so you don’t have to use it if you don’t want to.
    Thanks for your comment!

  10. soy yogurt. i’ve been looking around for a good one. (i noticed it’s one of the ingredients in your pumpkin/curry soup.) let me know a brand you found to be a good one… jane d.

So whaddya think?

